History

A contemporary destination
with a rich history, set
alongside a thriving
gastronomic hub

Coming Spring 2027

SOUTHWARK’S RICH
RIVERSIDE Heritage

From a Roman settlement to the Larder of London at New Hibernia Wharf, 
the site has been best known for its business, trade and creativity for over
2,000 years. Once home to over 500 residents, the adjacent London Bridge was the longest inhabited bridge in Europe, and nearby Southwark Cathedral is
 also the resting place of the lesser-known Edmund Shakespeare. It’s an area bursting with history.

From a Roman settlement to the Larder of London at New Hibernia Wharf, 

the site has been best known for its business, trade and creativity for over

2,000 years.

Once home to over 500 residents, the adjacent London Bridge was
once the longest inhabited bridge in Europe, and nearby Southwark Cathedral is 

also the resting place of the lesser-known Edmund Shakespeare.


It’s an area bursting with history.

Explore the history
of The Delft

Over 2,000 years ago

Over 2,000 years ago, the site of The Delft
would have been a marshy land most
suited for hunting and fishing.

Over 2,000 years ago

Marcy Land

AD43-1100s

Archaeological evidence suggests the area was a bustling

community, packed with workshops and other

industrial buildings.

Image: MOLA

AD43-1100s

A Roman copper-alloy flagon handle found at Hibernia Wharf

1100s-1500s

The site was within the boundaries of St Mary Overy –
a priory which eventually became

Southwark Cathedral.

Image: Wellcome Collection (recoloured)

1100s-1500s

The Priory at St Mary Overy

1500s

After the Dissolution of the Monasteries by Henry VIII
between 1536-1541, the priory buildings were sold
off and passed through many owners, including

Master of the Horse to Henry VIII and Viscount
Montague, who gives his name
to Montague Close.

1500s

Anthony Browne, Viscount Montague

1600s

The site was sold to Robert Bromfield and
Thomas Overman by Viscount Montague
and Lord Petre. They operated the lease 

of the wharf, kickstarting the site’s long
association with warehousing.

1600s

A 17th century etching of the Southwark riverbank

1612-1750

From 1612-1750, the former chapter house of St Mary Overy / Southwark Cathedral
became the centre of delftware pottery, with the first tin-glazed pothouse in
Southwark (and only the second in London) located here.

Image: V&A

1612-1750

Mug (most likely a Christening mug), Montague Close Pottery, 1632

From 1836

From 1836, the site was known as New Hibernia Wharf, a riverside
warehouse owned by Alderman John Humphrey, later to become

owner of nearby Hay’s Wharf.

Amongst other things, the warehouse was used as a cold store for
perishable foodstuff, with this particular stretch of the river suitably
described as ‘The Larder of London’.

Image: Britain from Above

From 1836

New Hibernia Wharf, c.1921

1979

Developed in 1979 by Twigg, Brown & Partners, the
building became the London office of Grindlays Bank;
& Partners, Minerva House became agents and
bankers to the British army and business community
in
India. They commissioned a statue entitled ‘Minerva’,
most likely alluding to the Roman symbolism
of
wisdom, trade and strategy.

1979

A statue of Minerva by Alan Collins

Today

The Delft will offer 140,000 sq ft of next-generation workspace
that overlooks the Thames, a true riverside sanctuary designed
with wellness at the forefront.

Today